DriveHomeSafe.com

Basic requirements of California's Provisional License for Teenagers

Basic requirements of California's Provisional License for Teenagers

Step 1

First you must attain a Provisional Driver's Permit.

  1. Be at least 15, but under 18 years of age.
  2. Obtain your parents' or guardians' signatures on the application form.
  3. If under 15 1/2, be enrolled in driver education and driver training during the same semester -- simultaneous enrollment.
  4. If teenager is at least 17 1/2 he or she may obtain a permit without driver education or driver training.
  5. Pass a traffic laws and road signs test.
  6. Have your permit for a minimum of 6 months before you apply for a license
  7. Minors may use the provisional permit to practice with a parent, guardian, spouse, or an adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California driver license. The person must be close enough to take control of the vehicle at any time. A provisional permit does not let you drive alone -- not even to a DMV office to take a driving test.
  8. Check California regulations closely about what is permitted holding a "Provisional" permit. For instance, if teenager has not enrolled in a certified or accredited driver training instructional course, teenager is restricted from driving.


Step 2:

Minor's Provisional Operator's License Requirements.

  1. Teen must be at least 16 years old.
  2. Prove that he or she finished both driver education and driver training.
  3. Provide a parent's signature on his or her instruction permit stating teenager completed all the driving practice outlined in the Parent-Teen Training Aide.
  4. Complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice--10 hours must be completed at night.
  5. Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test.
  6. Teenager may drive alone with provisional license, as long as teenager has not been involved in accidents or have traffic violations.
  7. During the first 6 months after being licensed, teenager must be accompanied by a driver 25 years of age or older if teenager is driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. or if teenager is transporting people under age 20.
  8. During the second 6 months, after teenager has been licensed, teen must be accompanied by a driver 25 years of age or older if teenager is driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. However, you may transport passengers under age 20 without supervision between the hours of 5 a.m. and midnight.

Category:

Comments

is that law real? that everyone born after 1995 has to wait till there 18 to get there licence?

something i dont get is when your 17 1/2 can you drive alone between 6AM-10PM?? with a provisional drivers license?

Do you have to be exactly 15 1/2 or can you be like 3 weeks before you turn exactly 15 1/2 to get a permit for California??

Post new comment